Skip to content

Class of 2007 Says Goodbye

Class of 2007 Says Goodbye

By Crystal Howerton


   Commencement exercises for the Knox County R-1 Class of 2007 were held in the high school gymnasium on Saturday evening, May 19, 2007 at 7:00 p.m.

   Soon-to-be graduates entered the gymnasium to “Pomp and Circumstance” compliments of Organist Carol Hayes.

   Following the processional, introductions were made by High School Principal D.J. Leverton.  Class President Kisha Tungate welcomed friends and family to the momentous event.

   Next, the graduating class made their way to the risers where they sang a touching rendition of “My Wish,” a country song performed by Rascal Flatts.

   Senior speakers were Class Valedictorian Melanie Tague and Class Salutatorian Chelsea Redding, followed by the featured speaker, Esty Eyler.  For decades, students at Knox County R-1 have heard Esty preach self-discipline as the key to success.  How could graduation be any different?  However, Esty chose to classify her chat not as a speech, but as “a love letter and a thank you note.”  Whatever she chose to call it, it was met with tremendous applause from all in attendance.

   Then, the Knox County Honor Choir performed “Because You Cared” and “It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday,” followed by the much anticipated Senior Video which produced an array of emotions from friends and family members.   Senior Honor Choir members Denise Reeves, Jamie Pflum, Kelly Howerton and Andrew Parrish demonstrated their talent, singing “Until We Meet Somewhere Again.”

   The Presentation of Honors was made by High School Counselor Melinda Suchland.  The Presentation of Seniors/Diplomas was made by Principal Leverton and Board of Education President Joe Delaney.

   The following students received diplomas: Brooke Ahten, Bryson Applegate, Tyson Ausmus, Bridgett Barnard, William Cardwell, Andrea Doss, Gregory Engelbrecht, Allana Ewalt, Halley Fagin, Katelyn Gibson, Kristen Hager, Rachel Harrison, Kelly Howerton, Andrew Hustead, Katrina Kelsey, Aaron Klocke, Kenian Leavitt, Ronald Leckbee, Tara Lingenfelter, Brett Lowe, Ryan Mason, Debra McCarty, Morgan Nunan, Andrew Parrish, Jaylee Parrish, Anne Peterson, Jamie Pflum, Chelsea Redding, Denise Reeves, Jessica Rick, Brooke Rude, Caleb Shubert, Jessica Shultz, Melanie Tague, Kisha Tungate, Thor Woltor and Amy Lynn Yoakum.

   As each senior exited the stage, they were handed red carnations, which they in turn passed out to their mothers or other significant females in their lives.

   After the last student found her way back to her seat, Principal Leverton announced the graduating class of 2007, which was followed by a chaos of silly string, confetti and balloons.