Skip to content

Knox Co. Municipal Election April 8

By Crystal Howerton

Approaching is the April 8, 2008 Municipal Election in Knox County. The official ballot will hold the following information. All candidates’ names are in the order in which they will appear on the ballot.
The Town of Novelty will hold the only contested race in Knox County. Jerry Lincoln, Jason Violette, Richard Edwards and Linda Stukenberg will compete for three two-year terms on the Board of Trustees.
Citizens will vote yes or no on Proposition 1: Shall the County of Knox continue the existing county wide sales tax of ½ cent (one-half cent), for a period of four years beginning January 1, 2009, for the purpose of the General Revenue Fund.
In Baring, Eldon Parrish appears on the ballot as the lone candidate for South Ward City Council member, a two-year term. No one has filed for the North Ward opening, another two-year term.
David W. Strickler, Jr. filed for another two-year term as Mayor of Edina, as well as Betty Morgret for City Collector. Renee Edwards, Albert Hagerla and Donnie Davis have each filed for another two-year term as First, Second and Third Ward Alderman.
At press time, no one had filed for a write-in as Mayor, West Ward Alderman and East Ward Alderman for the City of Hurdland.
Sandy G. Browning has filed for Mayor of Knox City, a two-year term. Michael E. Rash has filed for a one-year term as North Ward Alderman. There are also openings for a North Ward and South Ward Alderman, both two-year terms. Knox City residents will vote yes or no to continue Street Tax of .15 per 100 dollar valuation for Street Maintenance for a period of two years.
In the Town of Newark, Rita Lindsey, Helen Petersen and Lester Ellis have filed for three two-year terms on the Newark Board of Trustees.
The LaPlata R-11, Adair County R-11 and Lewis County C-1 School Districts will also appear on the ballot. In the LaPlata R-11 School District, Matthew E. Belt, Norine Eitel, Kevin Pipes, Cheryl L. Curtis and Michael E. Kimmel filed for three three-year terms on the School Board. Traci Hill, Douglas Clarkson, Curtis Gordon and Shelley Story have filed for positions on the Adair County R-11 School District Board. In the Lewis County C-1 School District, Donna R. Collier, Terry Faulconer, Randall Sharpe, Johnnie Schultz and Doug G. Lay filed for three three-year terms.