Skip to content

New KCR-1 Board of Education Disputes Commerce Bank Corporate Resolution to Obtain Credit Card Account

By Crystal Howerton

An organizational meeting was held prior to the regular session meeting on April 15, 2008 in which School Board President Joe Delaney swore in new board members Nancy Averill, Stacy Harder and Mark Cardwell.
Nominations were heard for President, Vice-president, Secretary and Treasurer. The following positions were voted upon: Joe Delaney, President; Ruey Douglas, Vice-president; Shelly Bugh, Secretary; and Darrell Shultz, Treasurer.
Board members carried on a lengthy discussion pertaining to Superintendent D.J. Leverton’s proposal to establish a credit card account with Commerce Bank, NA, Omaha, NE.
According to Supt. Leverton the school district would receive a monthly bill with an itemized account of purchases that would be paid monthly. He said it would be much more efficient for the secretary’s, requiring only one check instead of multiple payments. Supt. Leverton explained that with the account the district would benefit from cash back on some purchases such as textbooks, as well as discounts on purchases. He said that the Schuyler County and Canton school districts are currently taking advantage of an account and that the Canton school district has received several thousand dollars in cash back over the past couple of years.
School Board members remained hesitant but Supt. Leverton explained that this account would eventually eliminate the use of multiple accounts that the district already possesses, such as Staples, Wal-Mart, Home Depot and Barnes and Noble accounts.
Upon recommendation by Supt. Leverton, the Board voted to establish a credit card account with Commerce Bank by a 5-2 vote. Yea: Joe Delaney, Darrell Shultz, Nancy Averill, Stacy Harder and Mark Cardwell. Nay: Ruey Douglas and Shelly Bugh.
Administrative reports were heard. Student Council members Danielle Wolfe and Jessie Stout announced National Leadership Week was April 13-19 and reported on the Student Council’s activities to promote leadership.
High School Principal Andy Turgeon announced that last year’s yearbook committee was awarded the Walsworth “Gallery of Excellence” for the 2006-07 yearbook. He named members of the committee and sponsor Staci English. Prin. Turgeon reported that the band had received a “II” rating at state contest. He said that the state has requested that Language Arts Instructor Frances Jones review and revise questions for the 2009 End-of-Course exams. He also presented school board members with a tentative MS/HS class schedule for the 2008-09 school year.
Assistant Principal / Transportation Director Steve Ramer reported that the All Sports Banquet would be held on May 8, 2008 with guest speaker Chris Duerr, KHQA TV Sports Director.
Special Programs Coordinator Nancy Goodwin announced that the district had recently received two special education grants in the amount of $10,000 each. One is the Elementary Achievement Grant, which will benefit all students and assist in MAP achievement. The other is a High School Improvement Grant for Post-Secondary Transition.
Supt. Leverton reported on the Missouri Association of
See Board, Page 18
School Administrators meeting recently attended at the Lake of the Ozarks. Information was shared regarding teacher salaries, transportation funding, as well as group health insurance.
CTA Representative Marty Strange recognized third grade teacher Rachel Barhorst as the April Educator of the month.
MSIP Coordinator Marilyn Waite announced that the Knox County R-1 School District had received the Distinction in Performance award for the second year in a row. District representatives attended the banquet held at Truman State University on April 8, 2008. In addition, the Knox County R-1 Schools had two grades recognized for performance on the Spring 2007 MAP Assessment. Last year’s eighth graders scored fifth highest in the state in math and the tenth grade scored third highest in the district’s enrollment category.
Programs and Services Evaluation Reports – Technology, Preschool, PAT/Parent Education were presented by Steve Blodgett, Sharon Hall and Nancy Goodwin. Goodwin stated that the Preschool report would be presented in June.
Steve Ramer discussed plans for summer improvements and maintenance above and beyond normal activities. He stated that they are developing a rotation to maintain buildings and grounds in the future.
Brett Robbens with T.A.C. Energy Solutions, an energy savings company, presented information on his company and a facility analysis. The district is considering using this company to assist with energy saving solutions including issues with lighting, elementary roof, insulation, door seals and alignment, windows and ceilings. So far this has been at no cost to the district. Administration will continue to explore this option and keep the Board updated on findings.
The 2008 Summer School plan presented by Elementary Principal Marty Strange was approved and the Model Compliance Plan as the local plan for compliance with state and federal regulations implementing the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act presented by Nancy Goodwin was adopted.