Skip to content

Knox County R-I Receives 2009 Distinction in Performance Award At Truman State University

Knox County R-I Receives 2009 Distinction in
Performance Award At Truman State University

was one of 30 school districts in the northeast Missouri area honored by the
state at a banquet March 30th hosted by the Northeast Regional Professional
Development Center.  Approximately 200 school board members,
administrators, teachers and students attended.
The banquet was held in the Student Union building on the Truman State
University campus in Kirksville.  The dinner was followed by the
presentation of awards to representatives from local school districts. 
The school districts honored were:  Adair County R-I, Adair County R-II,
Atlanta C-3, Bucklin R-II, Canton R-V, Clark County R-I, Glasgow, Green City
R-I, Hannibal 60, Kirksville R-III, Knox County R-I, La Plata R-II, Lewis
County C-1, Linn Co. R-I, Luray 33, Macon R-I, Madison C-3, Marceline R-V,
Marion County R-II, Meadville R-IV, Monroe City R-I, Newtown-Harris R-III,
North Shelby, Northeast Randolph R-IV, Palmyra R-I, Ralls Co. R-II, Revere C-3,
Schuyler County R-I, Scotland County R-I and Shelby County R-IV.

Recognizing the schools’
accomplishments were Stan Johnson, Assistant Commissioner of the Department of
Elementary and Secondary Education and Dr. Russell V. Thompson, President,
State Board.  Also helping celebrate the schools’ accomplishments were Dr.
Darrell Krueger, President of Truman State University; Dr. Sam Minner, Dean of
the University’s School of Health Sciences and Education;  Darl Davis,
Director of Northeast Regional Professional Development Center and Assistant
Director Jennifer Webb; and Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education Area Supervisors Ronald McSorley and J.D. King.  Also in
attendance were representatives of the eleven programs within the Regional
Professional Development Center.
This is the third year that Knox County R-I has received this award.