Skip to content

Knox County Senior Awards Night

By Beth Hunolt
Friday, May 1st, was the annual Senior Awards Night, honoring the 2009 Knox County scholarship winners. The event was held in the Knox County High school cafeteria, and commended at 7 pm. Speaker Andy Turgeon began the evening by congratulating the Knox County Class of 2009, and introduced the Honor Choir Seniors, who sang our country’s National Anthem.
Many awards were passed out, a true testament to our seniors who worked hard this year, and throughout their high school careers.  Certain memorial scholarships were asked to be reported on.
The John and Kathryn Gifford Educational Grant presented by Mr. Aylmer Gifford went to Laura Blake. While her sister Lisa Blake was awarded the Eula Harrison Memorial Scholarship.
Other scholarship winners included: Brett Wilkerson Knox County Young Farmers Scholarship and the MFA Foundation – Novelty Scholarship, Sarah Stokes received the Truman State University Scholarship as well as an Alumni Character Scholarship. Jon Ritchie was awarded with two scholarships the Eldon Ewalt Scholarship and the Knox County Music Boosters Scholarship. The second Truman State University Scholarship went to Ann Rice. Mitchel Penn received the VFW’s scholarship and Mitchel Pegg received the Pepsi Above and Beyond Scholarship commending his grades while working a part-time job.
The Scott Pinson Memorial Scholarship went to Erica Miller. Tara Mason accepted the American Legion Award, a Citizen’s Bank of Edina award, and a Knox County Rotary Award, Hayden Hunziker was congratulated on accepting the Lewis County REC Scholarship and a $500 scholarship to Northwest Missouri State Scholarship.
Megan Hunolt received several scholarship and awards including a Citizen Bank of Edina award, the Smoke busters Scholarship, and the Knox County CTA Scholarship. Amber Hayes received the KC CAM scholarship and Kasey Douglas received the AG Rimer Memorial Scholarship. Brandon Gudehus received many awards and scholarships including an Alumni Character Scholarship, Farm Credit Services Scholarship, MFA Foundation- LaBelle Scholarship, and the National Wild Turkey Foundation Scholarship.
Cory Chockley received the Lila Kennedy Memorial Scholarship and Courtney Cahalan received a Knox County Rotary Club Scholarship, a Truman State University Scholarship, the Hurdland 4th of July Scholarship, a Culver-Stockton College Scholarship, and the Lewis County REC Scholarship. The Knox County Sports Boosters award two athlete with Scholarships: Girls winner was Tessa Ramer and Boys winner was Dennis Dent. The MACC Superintendent’s office was awarded to two individuals as well; Alexandra Pita and Cheyanne Goodwin.
To end the evening, speaker, Andy Turgeon thanked the guest speakers, Seniors, and the students’ families for coming to the event.  Alicia Mayers was also thanked for making and passing out the programs, and everyone was invited to enjoy refreshment contributed by the Knox County National Honor Society.