Skip to content

Knox County R-I Track And Field Has Five State Champions


By David Sharp


Due to a reporter’s error, The Edina Sentinel story published in the May 23, 2012 edition reporting results of the MSHSAA Class 1 and 2 Track and Field Championships, held May 18-19 at Jefferson City omitted one of Knox County’s five track and field state champions since consolidation in 1963.

Connie Hall won the Missouri State High School Activities Association Class 2 girl’s discus championship in 1980.

The winning throw was 109’ 3 ½”. Knox County finished second in Class 2 during the 1980 Track and Field Championships.

Four time track and field all stater Connie Hall is a 1983 graduate of Knox County R-I. Hall won her discus gold medal in her freshman season at Knox County.

The portion of our 2012 state track and field championships story containing the KCHS state track champions was intended to put Kelsey Cahalan’s Class 1 girl’s 800 meter state championship into the 48 year history of the county wide institution.

As far as this reporter can find, all of the Knox County R-I state track and field champions are Lady Eagles.

There were boy’s state track champions from Knox County based high schools before consolidation, including the Class C 1948 and 1949 Edina Lions team championships.

Edina High School finished second in the Missouri Class C in 1950. The Lions won five individual or relay state titles from 1948-50.

The Knox City and Newark High Schools had one documented boy’s state champion each beginning in 1929.

Source MSHSAA Track and Field Championships records, 2010 Edition. Track and Field fans can find state track and field records near the back of their Track and Field Championships programs. Records are also available on the Internet at

Thanks Connie Hall and Nancy Witte Schwegler for providing information for this story.

Anyone with documented information on Knox County or Brashear sports history interested in becoming a resource person please contact the Edina Sentinel at 660-397-2226 or e-mail

The corrected list of Knox County R-I state track and field champions should read;

Irma Dovin, 1977 Class A girl’s discus champion.

Connie Hall, 1980 Class 2 girl’s discus champion.

Nancy Witte Schwegler seven time state champion (1977-80) in Class A and then Class 2A 100 yard and 220 yard dash. 1980 Class 2A champion in the 100 and 200 meter dash.

Shelly Gudehus five time Class 2A state champion (1981-82). Girl’s 400 meter dash champion in 1981. Girl’s 800 and 1600 meter state champions in 1981 and 1982.

Kelsey Cahalan, 2012 Class 1 Girl’s state champion in the 800 meter run at 2:24.75 seconds.